Breastfeeding – a mother’s gift of love and care

“Breastfeeding is a mother’s gift to herself, her baby and the earth.”

Pamela K. Wiggins

breastfeeding-close-up
From The rants in my pants

Mother’s milk, time-tested for millions of years, is the best nutrient for babies. Numerous studies have demonstrated a number of important health benefits to breastfeeding. Among them:

  • Breast-fed children are more resistant to disease and infection early in life than formula-fed children
  • Breast-fed children are less likely to contract a number of diseases later in life, including juvenile diabetes, multiple sclerosis, heart disease, and cancer before the age of 15
  • Mothers who breastfeed are less likely to develop osteoporosis later in life, are able to lose weight gained during pregnancy more easily and have a lower risk of breast, uterine and ovarian cancer.

Babies also benefit from the physical closeness of nursing. Gazing into their mothers’ eyes, babies come to understand that they are loved and protected and that their mothers are there to provide for their needs.

In addition, breastfeeding releases hormones in mother’s body that promote mothering behaviors. This emotional bond is as vital as the nutritional benefit babies receive from breastfeeding. Scientists now tell us that infants learn best in a context of emotional closeness with an adult. Breastfeeding promotes a growing attachment between mothers and their babies that will continue to play an important role in baby’s development for years to come.

Many women report feeling uncomfortable breastfeeding in public, even doing so discreetly. Unfortunately, it isn’t possible for women to stay home all the time. They need to go out to do shopping and other household chores, or to take their children for a walk. Therefore sometimes mothers do need to breastfeed their babies in public. Please, be kind to breastfeeding mothers. Their need your support and understanding. Don’t make them feel bad for breastfeeding in public. Don’t force them to hide in the public toilets to feed their babies. Don’t shame them – there is nothing shamefull in mothers’ commitment to feed their babies whenever they need it. They should be praised instead. Please, don’t make them feel like in the Hollie McNish’s video “Embarrassed” provided below.

At first
I thought it was ok
I could understand their reasons
They said ‘There might be young children or a nervous man seeing’
this small piece of flesh that they weren’t quite expecting
so I whispered and tiptoed with nervous discretion.
But after six months of her life sat sitting on lids
Sipping on her milk nostrils sniffing up piss
Trying not to bang her head on toilet roll dispensers
I wonder whether these public loo feeds offend her?
Cos I’m getting tired of discretion and being ‘polite’ as my baby’s first sips are drowned drenched in shite,
I spent the first feeding months of her beautiful life
Feeling nervous and awkward and wanting everything right.
Surrounded by family until I stepped out the house
It took me eight weeks to get the confidence to go into town
Now the comments around me cut like a knife
As I rush into toilet cubicles feeling nothing like nice.
Because I’m giving her milk that’s not in a bottle
Wishing the cocaine generation white powder would topple
I see pyramid sales pitches across our green globe
and female breasts banned.  Unless they’re out just for show.
And the more I go out, the more I can’t stand it,
I walk into town feel I’m surrounded by bandits
Cos in this country of billboards covered in ‘tits’
and family newsagents’ magazines full of it
Whsmith top shelves out for men – Why don’t you complain about them then?
In this country of billboards covered in ‘tits’
and family newsagents magazines full of it
Whsmith top shelves out for men, I’m getting embarrassed
In case a small flash of flesh might offend.
And I’m mot trying to ‘parade’ this, I don’t want to make a show
But when I’m told I’d be better just staying at home
And when another friend I know is thrown off a bus
And another woman told to get out the pub
Even my grandma said maybe I was ‘sexing it up’.
And I’m sure the milk makers love all this fuss
All the cussing and worry and looks of disgust
As another mother turns from nipples to powder
Ashamed or embarrassed by comments around her and
As I hold her head up and pull my cardy across and she sips on the liquor made by everyones God, I think
For God sake, Jesus drank it
So did Sidhartha, Muhammed and Moses and both of their fathers
Ganesh and Shiva and Brighid and Buddha and I’m sure they weren’t doing it sniffing up piss as their mothers sat embarassed on cold toilet lids
In a country of billboards covered in ‘tits’
In a country of low cut tops cleavage and skin
In a country of cloth bags and recycling bins and as I desperately try to take all of it in,
I hold her head up
I can’t get my head round
The anger towards us and not to the sounds
of lorries offloading formula milk
into countries where water runs dripping in filth
In towns where breasts are oasis of life
now dried up in two for one offers, enticed by labels and logos and gold standard rights
claiming ‘breastmilk is healthier powdered and white’
packaged and branded and sold at a price so that nothing is free in this money fuelled life.
Which is fine
If you need it or prefer and can afford to use bottles, where water is clean and bacteria boiled,
but in towns where they drown in pollution and sewage
bottled kids die and they knew that they’d do it
In families where pennies are savoured like sweets
We’re now paying for one thing that’s always been free
In villages empty of hospital beds
babies die, diarrhoea fuelled that breastmilk would end
So no more will I sit on these cold toilet lids
No matter how embarrassed I feel as she sips
Cos in this country of billboards covered in ‘tits’
I think I should try to get used to this.

THE END

25 thoughts on “Breastfeeding – a mother’s gift of love and care

  1. Iva says:

    I am totally “for” breastfeeding. I’ve breastfed my two kids, I will do my best to breastfeed the third one as well 🙂

  2. melanie says:

    Long story, very short: I’ve had 2 kids – “old babies” now! 🙂 , but NOT even a drop of milk! I did try for several days, NO way, I would have liked to breastfeed them for 2-3 months…

    Well, they did grow up normally with the powder milk and they are healthy adults! 🙂

    • Otrazhenie says:

      I firmly believe that most of all babies need love and care. If they are loved, they will blossom. It looks like your babies were very well looked after – that’s the key. Enjoy your ‘old babies’ 🙂

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Returning to your comment, it raises a good point, Melanie. Baby formula can be a real life saver in the situations when breastfeeding is impossible. We definitely should remember about that too.

      • melanie says:

        That is sooo true, thanx for mentioning it! 🙂
        – – –
        My “older” baby speaks French, English, Chinese and Japanese… he went to Australia & NZ on vacation last winter and he loved them both! 🙂

      • Otrazhenie says:

        Wow, he is obviously very gifted with languages 🙂 Glad to hear that he enjoyed his trip to Australia and NZ – and got 2 summers in one year 🙂

  3. Breastfeeding my kids was one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life. They look up at you just like in the picture. Yet when I see this picture I imagine throwing a baby blanket over it, bocking the child’s gaze. I did it. Omg. I didn’ see intelligent social curious eyes full of love and delight, I looked and saw something it was my duty and modesty to cover up, I missed this whole face.
    I understand now why my fellow cultures don’t see a covering a woma’
    s face as anything but nessesary. I had to be told to notice. All my child’s crying and flailing arms batting at the

    offending screen I took as random bad humor.

  4. Go Read! My Dusty Books says:

    I breastfed both of my kids until they were three because allergies run in my family.. It was such a wonderful experience, I will never forget. The bonding- unlike anything else. I didn’t care what people thought of me nursing for so long, or in public. I was proud! When I nursed, I was discreet, which was the most I could do for a shocked and disapproving culture. Too bad! My babies came first. In Europe nursing is not shocking, in the USA it is. Shame. Chalk it up to being uneducated on the matter, or ignorant if you will. But it seems to be making a comeback, since Hollywood has taken to it (lol). Thank you for the wonderful post on a wonderful subject…:-)

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Well done. Glad that you liked this post. It is interesting how attitude to breastfeeding varies from culture to culture even within the Western world, without going further to the East. I thought breastfeeding in public was legally permitted in most Western countries, so at least there should be no ‘legal’ grounds for such disapproving culture. Hopefully such ‘disapproving’ culture will change over time.

  5. Bravo! I loved this post–which I suppose is natural since I am a lactation consultant. I chose that career after having a lovely breastfeeding relationship with all three of my sons, now grown.
    In WA state, where I live, it is against the law to discriminate against a woman breastfeeding in public. We are making progress… and I do realize there are many, many, women who choose to bottle-feed or need to because of whatever factors caused breastfeeding to be unsuccessful. I totally agree that babies first need love and care and this can be apart from feeding or done with feeding of any kind. Thank you for this post. I shall pass it on to my lactation colleagues.

  6. gwennonr says:

    Thank you for this thought-provoking article. I breastfed my four children, and the pressure to switch to formula or to “just do that somewhere else” was at times overwhelming. Modern society is often offended by the wrong things. A mother should never be shamed for feeding her baby the best food in the world if she is able to produce it naturally, instead of feeding their dependent children a cheap substitute that enriches the food industry!! The formula should be saved for those whose poor nutrition or other health problems prevent their being able to breastfeed. Hollie McNish brought out some very good points. I plan on sharing this with my friends.

  7. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Reblogged this on Ajaytao 2010 and commented:
    most beautiful most beautiful dear
    thank you dear Otrazhenie

    its a wonderful ode to a mother,
    lovely dear

  8. atlanticcus says:

    Breastfeeding is the most beautiful thing !!!! Id never hide when doing this. That is how it should be and everyone who is disgusted should ask himself whether he has some mental issues.

  9. hellenmasido says:

    wow!great piece! i come from a place that is all for breastfeeding- the old-fashioned way- any where, anytime. view are changing though and from your piece i see how. i don’t get it why there are people who dictate what someone else does for their baby- its like they didn’t suckle! i am all for breastfeeding. i don’t have a baby or anything but there is something tender and beautiful about a mother suckling her baby. people should not turn that into something detestable.

  10. B Harmony says:

    O, I’m just seeing this, I breastfed and it was such a natural and tender time in my life and that of my children. When I see a momma nursing her baby, I completely understand the sacred act of nourishing and nurturing her child. B.

Leave a Reply

