What is your motivation?

How do you get motivated? What gets you up early in the morning fired with passion and ready to take on the challenges that await? Or, do you find yourself struggling to get going and dreading the day?

From When Money Can’t Do the Job

We all go through periods in life where motivation can be tough, where the routine gets monotonous and we find ourselves dragging a little. How can we find motivation?

Most people think that rewards or punishments motivate people the most.

From http://www.familybeforefortune.com

However that is not always the case. In his book Drive: The Surprising Truth About What Motivates Us, Daniel Pink points out three elements of true motivation: autonomy, mastery and purpose.

Autonomy is “our desire to be self directed”; mastery is “the urge to get better at stuff”; and purpose is “making a contribution to society”. In other words, people are very motivated if they can choose how/when to do their jobs, are very competent at it, and are helping make the world a better place.

What is your motivation?

THE END

18 thoughts on “What is your motivation?

  1. Peter says:

    Really great stuff…. this illustration is fantastic. Thanks for sharing, and if its ok I’m going to re-blog it onto my site?

  2. Peter says:

    Reblogged this on Change Your Energy and commented:
    Motivation. Whats yours? …

  3. Seeing the smile on the face of another

  4. jessmbaum says:

    The problem for me is slowing down. I want everything so bad that I don’t stop and often lose sight of life in the meantime. haha

  5. satzie says:

    Thank you Otrazhenie 🙂 Good post. Enjoyed the insights and the question.

  6. […] “motivation” which was convincing, so i decided to give it a look. And at the end of the post, there was a question raised “What motivates you ?”. And i could not find a clear […]

  7. I struggle with this regularly. I want to love me job, which can be tough as I teach inner city middle schoolers. I appreciate this reminder that I am serving a purpose and I can continue to be better at my job!

  8. If motivation depends on figuring out and pursuing all three then no wonder why most of us struggle! Since, very regularly, we question and redefine all three.

    I think I am the type of person who needs a cheer leader by their side to encourage them to keep going! and at times I am the stone headed person who needs someone to oppose her to double her effort.. simply to prove them wrong!

  9. Sylvie says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog :))) you have also a really nice blog :)))

  10. Reblogged this on …in search of that perfect world. and commented:
    Get motivated. 🙂

Leave a Reply

