I was born with an enormous need for affection…

“I was born with an enormous need for affection, and a terrible need to give it.”

Audrey Hepburn


From http://slympickings.blogspot.co.nz/

I love this Audrey Hepburn’s quote a lot as it reminds me myself as a little child. I was born with an enormous need for affection, especially affection from my dad. ‘Dad’ was the first word I said in my life and the only one I kept saying over and over before I even learnt to walk properly.

My dad had a mustache at that time. Funnily enough, somehow I started ‘seeing’ all men with mustaches as my ‘dad’, smiling to total strangers, calling them ‘dad’, giving them hugs, showing them my toys and blabbering non-stop in my toddler’s talk. Whether it was on a bus, in a shop or any other public place, as soon as a man with a mustache appeared in sight, my mum and grandma knew another embarrassing moment was coming, with them trying to drag me off the poor guy apologizing profusely. Luckily, no man ever complained. They only smiled and laughed…

The most embarrassing incident was when I developed nasty pneumonia and was taken to the hospital. Everything was OK, until the doctor came to see me – and guess what, he had a mustache. In spite of the nasty pneumonia, somehow I managed to wrap my arms around his neck, screaming ‘dad, take me home,’ while my mum and all the duty nurses were desperately trying to peel me off that doctor. Hope, that incident did not put this poor doctor off a career in pediatrics.

Then one day my dad shaved off his mustache and I burst into tears as I did not recognise him…

From http://diana212m.blogspot.co.nz

What about you? What was the most embarrassing moment in your childhood?

THE END

20 thoughts on “I was born with an enormous need for affection…

  1. cbnwali says:

    Give and take, that is what life is all about.

  2. Mélanie says:

    I’ve loved Miss Hepburn, RIP – for decades… 🙂
    http://incaunipocrit.wordpress.com/2013/01/20/in-memoriam-audrey-hepburn-may-4-1929-january-20-1993/
    * * *
    nice story… I don’t have embarrassing memories of my young age… 🙂

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Funny you say that, Melanie. I do not remember any of these embarrassing incidents either, as I was only a toddler at that time. My family however is still laughing about them 🙂

      Loved your post on Audrey Hepburn, but could not find where to click ‘Like’. Truly remarkable person.

  3. That is a great quote. I can completely agree.. and while I have a LOT of affection for those extremely close to me (husband, kids) anyone else… I tend to have a hard time ‘feeling’ for them. Reposting quote and a link to your blog. Please let me know if not okay.

  4. ShethP says:

    Your story brought a smile to my face. 🙂 I guess most people crave affection in one way or the other and it’s necessary to be kind to all. Thanks for the great reminder!

  5. kcg1974 says:

    Delighted by your written post. Oh, loved the quote by Audrey Hepburn, too. One of my favorites all around..

  6. Great post. Totally agreed with you. Thanks for sharing.

  7. A very cute misinterpretation verbally shared… loved it

  8. satzie says:

    Had laughs. Good one Otrazhenie 🙂

    My embarrassing moments during childhood is often due to my lack of enough knowledge with the english language.

    I was in my fifth grade. Two of my friends were fighting. One of them accidentally hit my chest. And i started crying badly. Then our teacher came in asking for what happened.
    I didn’t knew it was called as chest. So,I told her that the other fellow hit me at my heart.
    And the teacher started laughing so hard along with the entire class. That was one of the embarrassing moments in my childhood.

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Loved your comment, Satzie. Your English is very good now. 🙂

      English is my second language too, so I was ‘caught’ in lots of embarrassing situations when I moved to an English-speaking country. It took me a while to learn all the cultural nuances and local slang. 🙂

Leave a Reply

