Happiness is YOU

“The art of being happy lies in the power of extracting happiness from common things.”

Henry Ward Beecher

Children
From DIVYAA68

“We all want to live happy and fulfilling lives and we want the people we love to be happy too. So happiness matters to all of us.

Happiness is about our lives as a whole: it includes the fluctuating feelings we experience everyday but also our overall satisfaction with life. It is influenced by our genes, upbringing and our external circumstances – such as our health, our work and our financial situation. But crucially it is also heavily influenced by our choices – our inner attitudes, how we approach our relationships, our personal values and our sense of purpose….

The research shows that happiness and fulfilment come less from material wealth and more from relationships; less from focusing on ourselves and more from helping others; less from external factors outside our control and more from the way in which we choose to react to what happens to us.”

 From Action for Happiness

Happiness quoteFrom Notable Quotes

Can happiness survive in one of the coldest parts of the world? Check out this video of -50C happiness from Yakutia –  part of the Russian Federation known for its extreme climate. Winters here are extremely cold. Some of the lowest natural temperatures ever recorded have been here. The Northern Hemisphere’s Pole of Cold is at Verkhoyansk, where the temperatures reached as low as −67.8 °C (−90.0 °F) in 1892, and at Oymyakon, where the temperatures reached as low as −71.2 °C (−96.2 °F) in 1926.

Happy Easter! 🙂 

THE END

18 thoughts on “Happiness is YOU

  1. I have often heard the words “I will be happy when” – I have 10,000 in the bank, have lost 30lbs etc. Putting off happiness based on future ‘maybe’s’ is wasting precious time. We also tend to expect other people to ‘make’ us happy – we can decide to be happy today with what we already have – if we get some icing on that cake – then great.

  2. randomrose says:

    Love the video and the pictures. Small things in life always make me happy. I often say, it doesn’t take much to make me smile. Happy Easter to you 🙂 🙂

  3. Ascension Angels says:

    Reblogged this on Ascension Angels and commented:
    Thank you Otrazhenie 🙂

  4. Happy Easter… and here’s to choosing in each moment to be happy with what we have in life… Barbara

  5. PookyH says:

    I agree with you wholeheartedly about happiness coming from something other than the things we have.

    I have a new neighbour and I must admit that from the outside I was a little envious of all that she had, but within a very short time I learned she had everything but nothing… (and, of course, I wrote a poem about it! http://pookypoetry.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/everything-and-nothing/ )

    How are you? I so enjoy my visits here, you always make me think x

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Beautiful poem. So true. Thanks for sharing it.

      Glad that you are enjoying visiting my blog. It is my thinking ground – online extension of my brain and soul. You are always welcome here 🙂

      All the best to you and your family. Have a wonderful Easter 🙂

  6. Morguie says:

    It is said that one should never place the key to their happiness within someone else’s pocket. 🙂

  7. bkpyett says:

    Your site is so uplifting! Stay happy!

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Thanks, Barbara. I’m trying my best to be my own sunshine 🙂 Blogging gives my soul a good rest from everyday routine. Wish you to always stay happy too 🙂

  8. Awesome job with your posts that reflect themes on good living and high thinking! I look forward to your insightful posts!!
    Happy blogging 🙂

  9. I had to see this a second time – love this video!

Leave a Reply

