Smile and pass it on :-)

Joy
Joy

Pass it on

I saw a beautiful man today
He wasn’t much to look at
But his smile revealed his soul
And once I’d caught a glimpse
I didn’t want to let it go

I glanced back, but afraid
He might misunderstand my gaze
I kept my eyes down
Disguised my curiosity with a frown
Didn’t want him to misread my desire to understand as lust
When it was anything but

Unfazed, he returned my gaze
His eyes brimming with joy
At what I don’t know
But I got caught up in this flow
As he re-entered the crowd
Shoulders back, head bowed

Stunned by the serenity
That began to infuse me
I too started to smile
And, after a while
I noticed others responded in kind
Well, those who didn’t mind…

Others were bemused by this
And shrank back almost as though I’d moved in for a kiss
Or more…
Perhaps they were reacting to me as I had to that beautiful man, before

But there was no holding my joy behind a frown
My shoulders back, I did not drop my head down
I walked tall
Wanting to share this feeling, no longer concerned I didn’t understand
Its source or its meaning
I didn’t need to

Its purpose was clear
It’s the meaning of life
It’s why we’re all here

To share our love when it overflows
So that we have something soft to land on when drowning in woe
Those days when managing a smile is nothing short of courageous

On the days you do it without thinking…
Remember your joy can be contagious.

Pass it on

By Rachael Blair

Smile
From QuickMeme

Keep smiling 😉

THE END

 

27 thoughts on “Smile and pass it on :-)

  1. bkpyett says:

    Contagious yes, and always a pleasure to pass it on!

  2. benmorais says:

    That was so wonderfully captured in the poem. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks.

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Glad that you liked this poem. It did make me not only smile, but burst into roaring laughter first time I read it. So true. Even in the most liberal societies, we are often scared to smile to strangers in a fear of being misunderstood. Luckily, we can still all smile with no restrictions while blogging 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. ShethP says:

    A lovely poem… It definitely does make you smile. Hehe. There have also been those times when I wondered whether someone was crazy because they randomly smiled at me. 😛 Still, we should keep smiling!

  4. Wonderfully put, another blinder from the man that is Otrazhenie. 😃

  5. Madhuri says:

    Reblogged this on Effloresce23 and commented:
    Lovely !!

  6. practicingtlc4me says:

    Beautiful!!!

  7. Nishita13 says:

    A beautiful piece made me stick unto it like a believer. Emotions were coming out till the brim. Events like this have even happened with me, so I could totally imagine it. 🙂 🙂

  8. hemmingplay says:

    Big grin here. 🙂

  9. Mélanie says:

    “A smile is often essential. We are paid by a smile. We are rewarded with a smile…”(Antoine de Saint-Exupéry) 🙂
    http://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2013/11/02/un-sourire-est-souvent-essentiel-have-a-smiling-day/

  10. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Very nice post dear 🙂

  11. loisajay says:

    thanks so much for liking my ‘smile’ post, but look at this post of yours! Wonderful! It made me smile. Very nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

