I’m not this hair, I’m not this skin, I’m the soul that lives within…

From early childhood I hated to hear any comments about my appearance, no matter whether they were negative or positive. I still hate any comments or compliments referring to my physical appearance.  Rumi’s quote expressed so well what I always felt: I’m not this hair, I’m not this skin. I don’t want my soul and my whole being to be limited to my physical appearance – I find it denigrating. Have you ever felt like that?

Hair

From Inspirably

THE END

27 thoughts on “I’m not this hair, I’m not this skin, I’m the soul that lives within…

  1. Unfortunately “we” tend to fixate on appearances which objectifies us and as a result don’t see the Truth

    • Otrazhenie says:

      So true. “Objectifies” is a very good word to express that. I find such ‘objectification’ of human beings denigrating for all humans, not just myself. Thanks for your insightful comment.

  2. sapphy03 says:

    Beautiful Quote!

  3. I am my heart and my soul. Always have been. Always will be. A good post topic!

  4. jadedmess says:

    One of many favorite Rumi quotes! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Very nice quote

  6. Uncle Spike says:

    Best 14 word title I’ve seen today… really makes you think!

  7. aquariosa says:

    I felt like that all the times … until a year ago I felt different and proud of who I am now, from the inside. Mind my own opinion about me, not someone else´s.

  8. manimehta says:

    I think that people do instinctively see beyond the outer and we are drawn to the souls beneath the surface. Something about the energies we emit being stronger than our physicality.

  9. melanie says:

    Dear O, this quote is wonderful, ideal, but utopic, ’cause its meaning is so far-away from our present societies where physical aspect is very important, it usually comes first, even though any appearance is often misleading and totally different from the inward side…
    – – –
    friendly thoughts & sunny hugs…<3

    • Otrazhenie says:

      I do agree with you on that when speaking about societies in general. However when it comes to individuals, some people do ‘see’ beyond the physical aspects – at least, after getting to know another person a bit better. As one old Russian proverb says, “One meets you depending on how you’re dressed and says good bye depending on how wise you seem to be.” 😉

  10. Wow, I have always felt the same way, and very at odds with others around me. I keep myself tidy, but what is on the outside is just the vitals 🙂 This stood me in good stead when I was diagnosed with breast cancer last year, mutilated, bald, thank goodness I didn’t sit sobbing over aesthetics like so many other women do, and I’m not putting them down, i’m just saying that for me it didn’t register…and for that I am happy…and happy to be alive!!! If I have children I want them to focus on happiness, not hollow values. Thanks for sharing an intriguing post!

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Sorry to hear about big C in your life. Hope you got that nasty big C battled so it won’t dare to come back. My partner has been diagnosed with big C a few years ago. Going through all the treatments was very tough, but it made us so much closer as a family. It made us all to appreciate the simple pleasure of being alive and while being alive, focus on what really matters…

  11. djdfr says:

    Unless they just say you’re looking really good. 🙂

  12. Theresa says:

    If only we could all remember this… Thank you for the gentle reminder.

  13. Madeleine says:

    it depends on who is commenting but also on your perception of yourself and other person. Young people need to hear since many have the idea they are not attractive.
    Important for the compliment to be sincere. I usually compliment their outfit and say things like you are handsome or beautiful inside and out if I know the person.
    The kind response is one of appreciation with a smile and then forget about it. Harmony is created when we perceive reality without judgement. Many times we feel uneasy thinking the compliment is not sincere.
    Beaufish

Leave a Reply

