What is your most valued possession?

QuoteFrom Tennessee Office for Refugees

Today I came across a beautiful article  Portraits of Refugees Posing With Their Most Valued Possessions with the most amazing images of human love and care I’ve ever seen. These images were created by Brian Sokol – a very talented photographer with an eye as sensitive to human pain and suffring as his heart:

sudan-6-copy

 “The most important object Dowla was able to bring with her is the wooden pole balanced over her shoulder, with which she carried her six children during the 10-day journey from Gabanit to South Sudan. At times, the children were too tired to walk, forcing her to carry two on either side.”

sudan-5-copy

“The most important thing that Shari was able to bring with her is the stick she holds. “I’ve had this stick since I went blind six years ago, she said. My son led me along the road with it. Without it, and him, I would be dead now.”

If you had to quickly flee both your home and country, what one possession would you make sure you take with you?

THE END

35 thoughts on “What is your most valued possession?

  1. Hard to put into words. thanks for sharing. I love some of Sebastien Salgado’s work for exactly the same reason. MM ❤

  2. Ajaytao2010 says:

    thank you very much

    touched my heart

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Thanks, Ajay. These images touched my heart too. Feel so sorry for all of them. Life is so unfair and some people are made to suffer so much in life. 😦

      • Ajaytao2010 says:

        yes exactly dear we just talk about peace and humanity
        and we are somehow in some unknown way responsible for that, this is what I feel on a broader spectrum

      • Otrazhenie says:

        Seeing such suffering makes me feel very guilty and helpless. I am lucky to have a warm bed to sleep in, nice food to eat, good clothes to wear. And I have not done anything more special in this life than those poor people. Why are they made to suffer so much in life? 😦

      • Ajaytao2010 says:

        yes dear we live very peacefully in our secured world and dont think much about anybody else we feel lucky for everything but somewhere deep within ourselves we also are very insecured looking at these people who suffer.

        We feel responsible for their suffering in some unknown way we feel we are helpless why??
        because we feel connected with them there is some unknown connection we dont know, other wise many people saw that pictures like you but why you only were touched by that dear, therefore I tell you it is your burning fire within that fights for the truth and light my small candle making me realize the truth.

        Dear you are constantly growing and so in some way we all will grow by your light

        Thank you very much dear

        I love you my friend I cant tell you why but I do for everything you are

      • Otrazhenie says:

        Thanks for your insightful comment and kind words. You are right – I do feel that I’m growing and changing with my blog. And you are one of the people who is influencing my growth. I appreciate that a lot, Ajay.

      • Ajaytao2010 says:

        thank a lot dear our journey is same I think
        and wish you all the best for that although I may not survive much but you will be able to carry the fire through

        thank you dear

      • Otrazhenie says:

        I hoped so much you were completely cured. Are you sure that there is no hope? Hope, you are not in pain and getting good medical care…

      • Ajaytao2010 says:

        No I am not sure there is nothing wrong with me right now but gods know when and how it happens dear nobody knows

        I am telling you for a long term you have the power within you and in the future you will be there

        yes dear I have my meds for a lifetime but I am a vicious fighter and I know nothing will happen until I loose hope

        thank you very much dear

        I am happy to be friends with you

      • Otrazhenie says:

        Never lose hope. You are so full of life – your every post, your every line. It is impossible tell what might happen to us in the future and how much time is left for our physical beings on this planet. However no matter what happens to our physical beings, our thoughts and spirit will live forever. You’ll live forever, Ajay.

      • Ajaytao2010 says:

        Thank you so much dear

        I know this is a blessing from a true and real heart

        thank you so much dear I will remember this till eternity 🙂

  3. Ajaytao2010 says:

    Reblogged this on Ajaytao 2010 and commented:
    Again a wonderful post by Otrazhenie
    that touches the heart very dearly

  4. faithanncolburn says:

    What heart wrenching photos. My city of choice, Lincoln, Nebraska, has the largest per-capita refugee population in the country. Some of them are among my best friends. Strength, courage and victory are good descriptions all.

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Never knew that you have such a large population of refugees in Lincoln. Glad to hear that some of them are among your best friends. I’m sure they appreciate your friendship a lot. 🙂

      • faithanncolburn says:

        They make the city more interesting than it could otherwise even begin to be.

      • Otrazhenie says:

        I also live in a very multicultural place where you can hear all sorts of languages on the street and children have friends at school who came here from different parts of the world. I’m loving this multiculturalism – it makes this place so special for me. 🙂

  5. WOW…thank you for sharing this is so touching and beautiful!

  6. my dachshund Baron and a photo of my deceased husband

  7. I think about this question pretty much all. the. time (and I write about it on MySimplicityQuest). I’m humbled by these images and their stories. Especially compared to my “First World” list of possiblilites like iPad or shoes or guitar. This post certainly puts it in perspective for me. Thank you so much.

  8. melanietoulouse says:

    you did touch my heart… really glad and deeply grateful I’ve come across your blog… heartful feelings and my respectful regards, Mélanie

  9. Su Leslie says:

    Thank you for posting those beautiful, moving photos. I live in a country that has traditionally been quite welcoming to refugees (unlike our neighbour, Australia), but under our current government there has been a shift to scare-mongering and demonizing. I would like everyone in NZ to see these photos and think about their own lives.

    • Otrazhenie says:

      Actually, I got these photos from the NZ site – http://www.stuff.co.nz 🙂 and shared them on my Facebook with all my NZ friends. Compared with most countries I’ve been to, NZ is truly the best when it comes to multiculturalism and appreciating cultural diversity. I love NZ a lot. I do understand what you mean though – hopefully, this shift won’t be long-term and NZ will always stay welcoming to people from various cultural backgrounds.

Leave a Reply

