Friday Giggle with Emoticons

use-emoticons-while-talking

From ToothpasteForDinner.com

As you probably noticed, I use emoticons (a pictorial representation of a facial expression) very often. Mostly only two of them: a smiling face :-)and a sad face 😦 . Sometimes I also use a wink ;-). I like emoticons as for me they make written text less formal and more personal. And it looks like there are plenty of people who think the same. In 2007, a Yahoo! surveyed 40,000 Yahoo! Messenger users and found that 82% of them used emoticons in their IM conversations.

I wonder however how the world would look if people winked in real life as much as they do online 😉

Wink
From google.com

its_friday-2315

17 thoughts on “Friday Giggle with Emoticons

  1. I do like to use emoticons a bit. They add flavour to mere text, I think. I’d add one right here, only I haven’t figured out how to do it yet…(wry face)

  2. limseemin says:

    Emotions is best to express sometimes 🙂

  3. LoveIn102 says:

    hah! I had this female landlord once who would always wink at me and I never understood why. it really weirded me out. it’s probably a good thing people don’t do that in real life. I feel like a lot more people would be getting punched if so.

  4. Very cool post! I love emoticons, but it is very true! We use them more online than actual expressions in real life!

    • Otrazhenie says:

      May be, because in actual life we have more ways of expressing ourselves, e.g. expressions of our faces and eyes, posture, tone of voice etc. In my experience written messages often get misunderstood without these non-verbal clues, so emoticons help to ‘fill’ that gap.

  5. Ellespeth says:

    I like to stick my tongue out 😛
    Ellespeth

  6. Bastet says:

    :p , I’ve tried the colon and the p, I think it doesn’t work on WordPress though…

  7. choppy123 says:

    I love emoticons, I use them all the time 😛

Leave a Reply

