My muse

My muse

* * *

Throughout the history of the arts, men and women have been inspired by their own muses. Think of John Lennon and Yoko Ono – two people who were inspired by each other and became the subject of much of the other’s work.

Yoko
John Lennon and Yoko Ono

One world famous artist who incorporated his muses into his work was the painter Pablo Picasso. Throughout his life, each of the women he met and loved became his subject. Picasso had relationships with many women, many of which ended in heart-breaking circumstances for the women. Picasso’s work can be seen progressing with each woman he had a relationship with. From the first flush of romance to the deterioration of the relationship, all of the stages can be seen in his art. Picasso’s women were his inspiration, and he is sometimes judged harshly for discarding the women in his life when the inspiration dissipated and his work began to suffer. Picasso would move onto a new woman, and his inspiration and art would be invigorated. Picasso brought misery to those who loved him.

Personally I never liked Picasso. His paintings always looked cold and egocentric to me, like if every single stroke of paint would be shouting: “It’s ME, ME, ME, and only ME”.

Picasso
from Picasso and Women in Waiting

Other artists, like Dante, rarely saw their muse in real life. According to Dante, he first met his muse Beatrice when his father took him to the Portinari house for a May Day party. At the time, Beatrice was eight years old, a year younger than Dante. Dante was instantly taken with her and remained so throughout her life even though she married another man, banker Simone dei Bardi, in 1287. Beatrice died three years later in June 1290 at the age of 24. Dante continued to hold an abiding love and respect for the woman after her death, even after he married Gemma Donati in 1285 and had children. After Beatrice’s death, Dante withdrew into intense study and began composing poems dedicated to her memory. The collection of these poems, along with others he had previously written in his journal in awe of Beatrice, became La Vita Nuova.

Beatrice
from Wikipedia

I personally prefer to keep my creative persona separate from my real being, so please do not feel offended if I don’t provide answers to personal questions. It is not wicked or malicious – simply I believe that personal information about me in real life (e.g. my gender, age, family status, occupation etc. etc. etc).) has nothing to do with Otrazhenie and Otrazhenie has nothing to do with who I’m and what I’m doing in real life.

My muse are the people I meet in real life as well as in the blogosphere. I get inspired by reading your blogs, answering your comments, talking to people, seeing sparkles in their eyes, listening to their laughter. The way inspiration works for me is described the best in the video provided below.

What about you? Where do you get your inspiration from?

7 thoughts on “My muse

  1. Yaz says:

    I agree with your feelings about Picasso. I went to the Picasso museum in Barcelona recently and didn’t like his popular stuff at all. I loved his early work though.

  2. supernaut says:

    My muse…. it’s the atmosphere, really. I get turned on (to writing) by smells, sights and their memories.

  3. The eternal topic of muses.
    Interesting to note about Picasso. More votes in the negative.

    http://www.realityenchanted.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/the-enchanted-writers-muse/

Leave a Reply

