Missing…

Dad5 ( Photo by Viktor Makarov )

When I look at the people
Who are part of my life
They’ve all made contributions,
But … something isn’t right.

When I line them up together
There is a space that is not complete
One figure isn’t equal
It doesn’t have a face.

With so many people present
Why am I so sad?
The faceless person standing
Is the one I call “My Dad”.

Divorce took him away
When I was only three.
Mommy got remarried
There was a new daddy for me.

He’s never been unfair to me
So, why am I so sad?
He’s always been there for me
But, I need to know my dad…

6 thoughts on “Missing…

  1. Beautifully expressed !!

Leave a Reply

