Why does Mommy and Daddy Fight?

by Dave Harm

Will they ever stop yelling?
H
ow did this happen?
Y
our fighting has hurt me.

Dad, do you love Mom?
O
dd that I have to ask.
Everyone knows you do,
S
o, please tell her “I love you.”

Mom do you love Dad?
O
dd that I have to ask.
M
any days, you both watched me.
M
any nights, I slept in comfort.
Y
ou’re my Mom and Dad.

Any way I look at it,
N
o medical treatment will help,
D
eep inside, I hurt.

Daddy, why do you drink?
A
nd Mommy, why do you yell?
D
on’t you care about me?
D
amn, I know I’m a baby,
Y
et I understand.

Forgive me, if I’m cranky.
I
m doing the best I can.
G
ive me back my comfort
H
aving Mommy and Daddy,
T
ogether, as a family, again.

 * * *

Zoe’s folks divorced when she was still a baby. Her dad was not around when she was growing up. Like lots of girls with absent fathers, she’d had a tough time forming decent relationships with men. Or trusting men. Or even knowing how  to deal with men.  Like me, she’s been hurt. And like me, she’s had difficulties maintaining female relationships. She tended to assume that every relationship would get yanked away from her.”

( from “Love my rifle more than you:
young and female in the US army”
by Kayla Williams )

3 thoughts on “Why does Mommy and Daddy Fight?

  1. Naomikko says:

    love the poen..so touching

Leave a Reply

