I was incredibly happy to be back…

“I was incredibly happy to be back in America. But … I kept having feelings of wanting to be back there (in Iraq)… When you come home … you feel this guilt for not being with your brothers. For not being with your people… There was culture shock. Everyone in America was fat. Everyone was on some stupid diet… I felt like people didn’t understand anything. That they were selfish and didn’t appreciate what they had.”

( from “Love my rifle more than you:
young and female in the US army”
by Kayla Williams )

 

Leave a Reply

